La importancia del descanso


This weekend, the couple that works in the kitchen at L’Arcada invited me to their home in Girona to do nothing except sleep and eat.  

“Kyla, estas cansada. Trabajas muy duro y necesitas descansar.”

When 2 of the most hardworking people at camp tell you that you look tired and need to rest, you don’t argue.  

The importance of rest is often a difficult thing for me to remember. I like working hard and I like having things to do!

But I am human. 

The Lord is patiently and lovingly reminding me of this reality. 

He alone is perfect in all of His ways. He alone is constant. He alone is consistently steadfast. 

And, even He, the God of the Universe, rested after His work in creation!

“Thus, the heavens and the earth were finished, and all the host of them. And on the seventh day God finished his work that he had done, and he rested on the seventh day from all his work that he had done. So God blessed the seventh day and made it holy, because on it God rested from all his work that he had done in creation.” Genesis 2:1-3

This weekend I slept close to 24 hours. I enjoyed showering with soft water, reading my Bible, drinking Strawberry Cheesecake tea, and hanging out with their niece who is like the Spanish-speaking version of my little sister. 

I only have 4 more weeks left here in Spain! That’s 4 more weeks of 4 different camps, and these, unlike the previous English-speaking camps, will be run completely in Spanish and Catalán. 

I know these weeks will fly by — the 6 weeks I have been here already seem like only a few days. 

My heart is thankful for rest. I’m returning to camp feeling refreshed and energized, both physically and in the Lord!

2 thoughts on “La importancia del descanso

Leave a Reply

